Untitled Document



About Us

Last Updated On: 2013-09-29 04:18:25

Founded in 1958, the Nigerian Society of Engineers (NSE) is the national umbrella organization for the Engineering profession in the country. Like some of its counterparts in other professions, the society has distinguished itself through progressive and imaginative programmes to become the avenue for the professional development of its members as well as the technological development of the country.
The objective of the Society is to promote the advancement of engineering education, research and practice in all its ramifications.
Naturally, this is with a view to maintaining and enhancing the professional capabilities of its members so as to better equip them to fulfil the needs of the profession for the good of the public and the nation at large.
Membership is open to all who possess qualifications that are acceptable by the Council
for the Regulation of Engineering in Nigeria (COREN) under the provisions of Engineers Registration Decree (No.55) of 1970 or such amendments thereof, irrespective of race, colour or religion.
Commencing in 1988, the Society conducts its own Graduateship Examinations for candidates who are not otherwise qualified.
There are six grades of membership, namely: Fellow, Corporate Member, Associate, Graduate, Student and Honorary Fellow.
Corporate engineering- based companies are also associated with the Society as Corporate Firm members.
The current Membership strength as at March 2005 is as follows:
Fellows 1,771
Honourary Fellows 11
Members 15, 571
Associates 313
Graduates 7,938
Students 12, 236
Corporate firms 13
The highest policy-making body of the Society is its Council which is elected by Corporate Members and headed by President.
The Society operates a Secretariat, currently housed at the National Engineering Centre, Victoria Island, Lagos ; a building owned by the Society. Also, a liaison office has been opened in Gwarimpa, Abuja .
A full –time Executive Secretary heads the Secretariat. Overall co-ordination of the Society\'s activities is carried out from the Secretariat.
As an umbrella organization, all the disciplines of the profession currently practiced in the country are duly catered for. Some of these disciplines are organized as Divisions of the Society to enhance individual career development.
The following divisions have been duly recognised : Aeronautical, Agricultural, Chemical, Civil, Electrical, Engineering Valuation and Cost Engineering, Environment, Geotechnical, Industrial, Mechanical, Metallurgical, Petroleum and Natural Gas and Structural. The Association of Professional Woman Engineers of Nigeria (APWEN) is also a Division of the Society. The Chairmen and /or Co-ordinators of the Divisions are all members of Council.
The Society is also organized into Branches based in various cities around the country to cater for the local activities of members. Fifty branches are currently active throughout the country in Aba, Abeokuta, Abakaliki, Abuja, Ado – Ekiti, Ajaokuta, Akure ,Apapa, Asaba ,Awka, Bauch,Benin, Calabar,Damaturu,Dutse,Ekpoma, Eket, Enugu, Egbin, Gombe, Gusau, Ibadan, Ikeja, Ikot-Abasi, Ile-ife, Ilesha, Illorin, Jos, Kaduna, Kano, Katsina, Lafia, Lagos, Lokoja,Maiduguri,Markurdi, Minna, New Bussa, Nsuka, Onitsha, Oshogbo, Owerri, Port-Harcourt, Sokoto, Umuahia,Uyo, Warri, Yenogoa, Yola, Zaria.
All branch Chairmen are also members of Council.
To assist the Council in achieving its policy objectives, Standing Committees are constituted to perform specific tasks in addition to the Statutory Board of Trustees.
The Executive Committee, made up of elected officials and the Executive Secretary, meets every other month. The meeting normally holds on the second Sunday or third Sunday if there are five Sundays in that month.

swiss rolex replica watchesswiss rolex replica watchesrolex replica watchesswiss replica watchesrolex replica watches for menswiss replica watches for sale

Engineers of Achievement and Honour

copyright© 2006 - 2015 Nigerian Society of Engineers,
Developed by Upperlink Limited